Paprikás Csirke & the 100th Blog Post

I can’t believe that this is my 100th blog post. This blog has come a long way, and what a better way to celebrate this milestone 100th post by kick starting the new Chronicles of a Hungry Man – The Kitchen Adventures. I’ve enjoyed visiting restaurants and trying different cuisines, and reviewing them, and once in a while sharing some of my recipes and travel adventures; but I feel happier when creating in the kitchen and sharing those stories with you. Not to worry, I won’t remove past content from this blog.

20120816-195931.jpg

It’s been about two weeks since I returned from a two week European vacation, and it was a wonderful, fun-filled, and memorable vacation at that. Now that I’m back at work, all I have are memories and pictures, and some foodstuffs collected from the trip. We have a potluck lunch at work tomorrow, and I take this opportunity to showcase my culinary skills. I decided to make Chicken Paprikash, a dish that I tried in Hungary for this potluck.

20120816-200629.jpg

When I was in Budapest, Hungary, I visited the Great Market Hall and brought back some paprika and saffron. For this dish, I will be using the sweet paprika I purchased at the market. I will highlight other ingredients purchased during my travels from time to time.

20120816-201151.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Large Spanish Onion (chopped)
  • 2.15 kg boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • Kosher Salt (to taste)
  • Ground Black Pepper (few dashes)
  • 2 Tbsp Sweet Paprika
  • 1 cup Chicken Broth
  • 2 Tbsp Flour
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream
  • Cooking Oil

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat pot and add cooking oil.
  2. Sauté onions in the pot for about 3-5 minutes.
  3. Add chicken pieces, and season with salt and ground black pepper, and brown for 5 minutes in medium-high heat.
  4. Add 2 Tbsp of Sweet Paprika and mix well.
  5. Add 1 cup Chicken Broth and let simmer in medium-low heat for 30 minutes.
  6. Add 2 Tbsp flour and stir well.
  7. Add 4 Tbsp Sour Cream and stir well.
  8. Serve over nokedli, or your choice of pasta or rice.

20120816-202724.jpg

I hope you all enjoy this recipe. I had a little bit left over after I placed enough in some glassware for the office potluck. I tried it over some tagliatelle and it was oh so good! ‘Til next time, Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

