The Lab: Aztec Chocolate Cookies

I’m not really much of a baker, I’ve tried baking on two other occasions, it was good, but not really my thing; but reading the various posts from fellow blogger Baker Bettie just made me want to make a go at it again. I get a kick from reading her new “Cookies are the New Cupcake” series. Especially after reading the Readers’ Edition Part 1 and Readers’ Edition Part 2 of the series, it gave me the push I needed.

20120304-230208.jpg

Here’s my recipe for something sweet and spicy, the Aztec Chocolate Cookie. This recipe is not entirely original as I found out others have done some variations on this before, but here’s my take on it.

20120304-230754.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Unsweetend Cocoa Powder
  • 1 stick (250g) Unsalted Butter (softened)
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp Crushed Chili Peppers
  • 2 Eggs
  • 4 squares (112g) semi-sweet chocolate (melted)

20120304-234235.jpg

PREPARATION

  1. Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Add the 2 eggs and 250g stick of butter, and mix thoroughly.
  3. Add the melted semi-sweet chocolate, and mix thoroughly.

20120304-231753.jpg

BAKING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Place dollops of dough on a cookie sheet.
  3. Bake cookies in oven for 15 minutes.
  4. Take cookies out from oven and allow it to rest.
  5. Enjoy cookies with milk. Especially for those not used to some heat, a glass of milk helps to soothe your taste buds.

20120304-235002.jpg

SUGGESTIONS/SIDE NOTES

  • This recipe makes approximately 50 cookies.
  • If you can’t handle spice, just adjust the measurements for the ground cayenne and crushed chilies to 1/4 tsp, or even 1/8 tsp for even lower heat. You can’t do away with the peppers though, as it won’t be Aztec anymore.
  • Feel free to add some nutmeg or allspice, or both to the mix.
  • This recipe would benefit from some crushed nuts and chocolate chips added to it, to add another layer of texture.

20120304-235310.jpg

I definitely enjoyed baking this, taking photos, and telling the tale of it all. Who knows, I might try baking again some time.

6 thoughts on “The Lab: Aztec Chocolate Cookies

  1. Ah! These look amazing. When I had my cookie business I sold a very similar cookie called “The Aztec”. It was always a favorite. But I love that you used actual chili peppers and I LOVE the shape of these. So unique!

Leave a Reply

