Fish Fry-day: The Lab – Sesame Salmon Steak w/ Wasabe Yogurt and Ramen

I went to a Japanese restaurant for lunch yesterday, and midway through my lunch, I thought, why not make something Japanese inspired for dinner? For some odd reason, the word ramen kept on popping into my head, so I decided to just go with it. After work, I headed to the grocery store to buy a few ingredients then headed home. My parents were home, and so were my brother and his girlfriend. My mom saw my bag of groceries, and I mentioned that it’s for my experiment, but I eventually got hoodwinked into making dinner for my brother and his girlfriend as well. So, here’s the recipe for this experimental dinner:

20120225-112132.jpg

WASABE YOGURT

Ingredients

  • Salt
  • 4 Tbsp sheep’s milk yogurt, plain
  • 1 small cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tsp wasabe paste

Instructions

  1. Place the yogurt and chopped cucumber in a bowl.
  2. Add a pinch of salt and mix.
  3. Add 2 tsp of wasabe paste and mix thoroughly. If you want an added kick, add more wasabe.
  4. Add a squeeze of lemon juice.
  5. Mix and set aside.

20120225-113625.jpg

SESAME SALMON STEAK

Ingredients

  • Salmon Steak (however many required)
  • Salt
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/2 lemon
  • Sesame Seeds

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Squeeze some lemon juice on the steak.
  3. Add a pinch of salt.
  4. Add a dash of ground black pepper.
  5. Add sesame seeds, just enough to slightly coat the steak.
  6. Place the salmon steak on a cookie sheet or aluminum tray.
  7. Place tray in oven and cook for 25 minutes or until your salmon steak is cooked. Cooking times may vary on types of ovens and size of steak.

20120225-114757.jpg

Cold Ramen Noodles

Ingredients (serves 3 people)

  • 2 pkgs, 100g ramen noodles
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Sesame Oil
  • 1/2 lemon

Instructions

  1. Boil water in a cooking pot.
  2. Add the ramen noodles to the pot and cook for 3 minutes.
  3. Drain water from noodles using a strainer.
  4. Run the noodles under cold water or dip and soak noodles in cold water.
  5. Pour drained ramen noodles in a medium sized bowl.
  6. Pour about 1 Tbsp of sesame oil into the bowl.
  7. Add a few dashes of ground black pepper.
  8. Add a few dashes of sesame seeds.
  9. Add a squeeze of lemon juice.
  10. Mix thoroughly.

20120225-120944.jpg

The dish tasted great, and the experiment was a success. Both my brother and his girlfriend really liked the flavour combinations. They also mentioned to let them know whenever I decide to do more experiments. Oh boy…

Leave a Reply

