The Lab: Salmon & Ravioli with Butter Dill Sauce

Welcome to the series entitled The Lab. What is The Lab all about? This series showcases my kitchen creations. Yes, I not only love to eat and talk about it… I also can cook! So let’s start off with a quick meal that I whipped up when I got home from work. I wanted to do something creative and challenged myself to make something from whatever’s available at home. I found some salmon fillets, and some frozen ravioli. I sliced the salmon into bite-sized pieces, and boiled some water to cook the ravioli. I melted some butter in a pan, added some garlic. I placed the salmon pieces in the pan and added some ground cayenne pepper, paprika, ground black pepper, and dill weed. Once the salmon was cooked, it was time for plating. Take a look at how it turned out:

20120112-232853.jpg

It was quick and simple, and tasted great. Note, the image you see is smaller than the actual meal portion. The sample sized portion was only for plating purposes. You can definitely try this at home and add your own mix of spices. I know I’ve added a few but don’t remember what. It’s all on the spur of the moment.

Before I end this segment, I want to confess something to you all. I don’t like cookbooks to much. I feel constrained by it. I like the uncertainty of the end result as well as the complexity of the creative process. I usually get my ideas from bits and pieces of shows on the Food Network. Watching all those amazing chefs challenges me to get my own creative juices flowing. So, ’til next time, eat hearty.

Leave a Reply

